computeLSTForElevation

Return to directory of Todd's CASA extensions

Computes the LST that an object passes the specified elevation at the specified observatory. See also computeUTForElevation.

Usage:

au.computeLSTForElevation(elevation, radec=None, date='', mjd=0, observatory='ALMA',
                           intervalMinutes=5, vis=None, field=None, useJPL=False)
Inputs:
  • elevation: in degrees
  • radec: must either be a tuple in radians: [ra,dec], or a string of the form "hh:mm:ss.sss -dd:mm:ss.ss"
  • date: string date. Either of these formats is valid: 2011/10/15, 2011-10-15
  • mjd: modified Julian date (optional, default = today)
  • observatory: location (observatory name) to run the calculation for
  • intervalMinutes: grid size to use in the search
  • vis: the measurement set from which to read the field coordinates
  • field: the field ID or name in the measurement set to use, or name of a planet if a planet, then find its position on the specified date (or today)
  • useJPL: if True, query JPL Horizons for planets instead of casa ephemerides
Returns: [riseTime,setTime] in floating point LST hours

Example:

CASA <2>: au.computeLSTForElevation(30,'13:00:00,+01:20:30')
 rising: 16:24 UT  = 12:24 Chile time
setting: 23:54 UT  = 19:54 Chile time
LST of rise = 9.235072 = 09:14:06
LST of set  = 16.755606 = 16:45:20
  Out[2]: (9.2350719610112719, 16.755606269995042)

-- ToddHunter - 2014-08-10
Topic revision: r1 - 2014-08-10, ToddHunter
This site is powered by FoswikiCopyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding NRAO Public Wiki? Send feedback