Chile Pre-Trip Checklist

Review:

Print:

Submit to Lyndele (on timeline below):

Timeline for Preparation:

  • Several months before travel:
    • Be sure that you have a valid passport
  • About 6-8 weeks before travel:
    • Complete Travel Authorization Form, including obtaining all approvals
    • Obtain Temporary Field Service to Chile Allowance letter (if travel will extend more than 21 days)
    • Arrange for High-altitude Physical
    • Make your travel arrangements, or ask Lyndele von Schill for assistance. Be sure to review travel requirements on the wiki.
    • Use this form International Travel to Chile Document to let the Office of Chilean Affairs (OCA) know about your trip. This document also contains a handy wallet card with emergency (in Chile) contact information.
    • Contact Ann Edmundsfor pre-travel arrangements:
      • Provide her with your travel itinerary (flights/times)
      • Send her a copy of your approved Travel Authorization Form
      • Your accommodations in Santiago
      • Transportation between the airport and your accommodations
      • Obtaining a cell phone for use in Chile
    • Contact Suitay Chang for travel arrangements to the OSF.
      • Providing them with a copy of your approved Travel Authorization Form
  • Contact Andreas Lundgren and Masao Saito for your functional assignments while you are in Chile. They are responsible for organizing your shift schedule at the OSF. They organize the schedule a month or more ahead of time so if you have specific travel constraints or preferences (day shift / night shift), make sure and let them know this ahead of time.

Contact Information

walletcard.png
Location Name email PhoneSorted descending Physical Address Function
OSF Suitay Chang, Science Assistant, OSF sc-assistant@alma.cl +56 2 4676600   OSF Logistical assistance
Charlottesville Lyndele von Schill lvonschi @ nrao.edu +1-434-296-0308 520 Edgemont Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903 Administrative Asst NAASC
Green Bank Andrea Taggart ataggart @ nrao.edu (304) 456-2262 P.O. Box 2 Green Bank, WV 24944 High-altitude physical information
Santiago Mauricio Pilleux mpilleux @ nrao.edu 9779-0972 AIU/NRAO offices, Av. Nueva Costanera 4091 Suite 502 Vitacura, Santiago, Chile Office of Chilean Affairs
Santiago Alina Prus aprus @ nrao.cl 8449-4297 Av. Nueva Costanera 4091 Suite 502 Vitacura, Santiago, Chile Office of Chilean Affairs
Santiago Carola Lara clara @ nrao.cl 7757-7693 Av. Nueva Costanera 4091 Suite 502 Vitacura, Santiago, Chile Office of Chilean Affairs
OSF Paramedics   6400   emergency assistance
OSF Emergency   555   emergency assistance
Charlottesville Jody Bolyard jbolyard @ nrao.edu 434-296-0341 520 Edgemont Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903 Safety
Santiago ALMA Travel Desk almatravel @ alma.cl 7-988-5004   24/7 travel assistance - call if you're stuck somewhere or need immediate travel assistance (including taxi)
Santiago Andreas Lundgren alundgre@alma.cl   Alonso de Córdova 3107 Vitacura - Santiago "ALMA Observatory" CSV Deputy Project Scientist, OSF Shifts
Santiago Masao Saito msaito@alma.cl   Alonso de Córdova 3107 Vitacura - Santiago "ALMA Observatory" CSV Deputy Project Scientist, OSF Shifts
Santiago Ann Edmunds, Science Assistant, Santiago aedmunds@alma.cl     Santiago Logisitcal Support
OSF Marcela Miranda mirandam @ alma.cl     ALMA Department of Computing
OSF OSF Contact List Contact List     Members of AIV/CSV/DSO/JAO Software Group
-- LyndeleVonSchill - 2012-01-05
Topic revision: r12 - 2013-12-11, LyndeleVonSchill
This site is powered by FoswikiCopyright © by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding NRAO Public Wiki? Send feedback